“In America, my initial impression was that death or the possibility of it always seemed to come as a surprise, as if we took it for granted that we were immortal, and that death was just an option.” – Cutting For Stone, Abraham Verghese

P1040775

“Tree Shadow” Spirit Photography by Michelle and Ricky Schill.

Society’s view of death has amazed me all my life. When my grandfather crossed over when I was ten years old, the adults in my life led me to believe that although there was a heaven, death is the end and I would not see or hear from my grandfather again. Having communicated with Spirits for the past decade plus the idea of heaven confused me when the part of it being the end and I would not see or hear from my grandpa again was added in. Then, when he did not contact me, I began to believe that maybe I was crazy. There is very good reason as to why he has not contacted me, which I believe I discussed in a previous blog post and will probably do so again in the future. It is, however, a whole other story for another post.

I believe that it is because of  this very attitude the author wrote the above quote. Society has such a skewed perception of death that the very utterance of the word is taboo. We have forgotten that “death” is a natural, normal and beautiful cycle of our existence. Granted, it is painful for those left behind but for the one who has transitioned, it typically is not. We have heard of near death experiences where upon return the experiencer states that they were reluctant return to their physical body.

We must begin to remember what death truly is. You may have noted that it is rare for me to use words such as death, dead, deceased, etc. The reason for this is that in my mind these words indicate ceased to exist. Where I differ from the author is that I believe we are immortal. It is our bodies that are not. We need understand that we are NOT our bodies.

I have always felt that my body was very heavy and constricting. Although I find this world beautiful (at least when out in nature), I find it heavy also. I always have the feeling of being confined in a very tiny space. There is very good reason for this. We are confined in a very small space when we incarnate. Our Spiritual bodies are much more massive than our physical bodies, yet lighter. When we incarnate we shove our Spirit into our physical body. Our entire Spiritual body does not entirely fit into our physical bodies, however, and this why many people can see energy around others. They are seeing the Spirit body which is outside of the physical body. That, in and of itself, should indicate to us that we are not our bodies.

Although I have some remembrance of the Spirit Realm, I cannot clearly remember in totality. What I do remember is lightness and freedom. I am one of rare few who look forward to the day I cross over and it is not merely because I have three children over there. I have felt this way since I was a small child. It is due to what I can remember. I remember, the lightness, freedom and beauty.

There was a time when society did not have such a strong fear of death. It was not some taboo subject which we felt would never happen to us or our loved ones, only to be shocked when it does. When a family member crossed over, they were laid out in the parlor of the home and not in a funeral home. Children were not shooed away nor were there secrets kept from the children or others of what was about occur. I believe that people had a much healthier view of death before the Civil War. For some reason, after the Civil War people felt that we needed to use funeral homes. Eventually we came to the point where we felt people had to die in institutions such as hospitals or nursing homes instead of the comfort of their own home surrounded by what is familiar and many times without family or friends.

When we come to understand that our bodies are a vehicle, which we must lovingly take care of, and we will discard when it is worn down or damaged too severely, yet we ourselves will continue on, we can then have a healthier attitude towards the subject of death. We can raise our children to not be as afraid or confused about death. We experience a different type of grief which is not quite so severe and will not leave us so bitter.

When we let go of our fear of death, then we will truly begin to live this life now. – Michelle

 

