Ends and Beginnings

It was just a little wet spot. Less a bog and more a hole where some water couldn’t escape. The Davidson River was just twenty feet behind it. I imagine when the river overflowed its banks this little indention in the earth could fill with water or maybe it was just the rain that kept it moist and full. It was situated under a thick canopy of trees which would prevent rapid evaporation from the Sun. In any event the eight year old in me was fascinated and found a stick I could use to stir this bowl of natures soup.

Before I began digging through the leaves on the bottom I noticed something moving, life. This wasn’t some random water-logged pool placed here for my amusement, this was a home, a little world, which was part of a bigger universe, my universe.

I threw the stick away and watched. Small…

View original post 587 more words