Dave's Cosmic Subs

Talk about synchronicity. I found this graffiti on the wall of Dave’s Cosmic Subs in Chagrin Falls, Ohio the day after I finished reading Ishmael.

My close and dear friend of 43 years recently sent me a book. Her family has a book club in which they all read the same book and then meet to discuss it. This club consists of three generations: grandparents, parents and the young adults. I just love this concept and wish I lived closer to her so that I may join in. The last book they read, my friend thought I would enjoy  so she be bought me a copy.

This is one of the most amazing, interesting and pertinent books I have read, yet it is a very easy and quick read. The title of the book is Ishmael: An Adventure Of The Mind And Spirit by Daniel Quinn.

It is about a Spiritual seeker who comes across his Spiritual teacher by happenstance. The student is taught about how we are all living a lie which Mother Culture has taught us. He compares the story that is enacted out by the majority population in the world to the story enacted by the indigenous natives throughout the world.

In doing so, the teacher reveals to the student how we are imprisoned and do not realize it, we are destroying ourselves and the world. The teacher explains that contrary to popular belief, this is not the way it was meant to be. The world was not created for humans only. We were not meant to rule and control the planet, but be an example to other species on how to care for the planet and all of its beings. He explains that the world does not belong to humans but humans belong to the world.

The teacher touches upon every issue on our planet today, how these issues came to be and how we have the power to change it. The Spiritual messages in this book are very important to humanity and the planet in general. I highly recommend that everyone reads it before the human race is extinct. – Michelle

