Purple Flowers By Barn
“Purple Flowers From The Barn” Spirit photography by Michelle and Ricky Schill

No, sorry everyone! I am not talking about going dancing or anything else you may have on your mind. I am talking about stepping out of your comfort zone!

If you want to really grow and expand, give it a try! Yes, I know, it is terrifying! I have been terrified of this for my entire life and had really been struggling with it for about a year and half now.

I have always been very shy and reserved. The typical wall flower at social functions. My self-esteem and self-confidence were so low that it was difficult to bring myself to talk to anyone. Gradually I began to become a bit more outgoing in social situations. I cannot remember what prompted it. It merely just seemed to happen.

Although I have always enjoyed writing and have been told I am a good writer, starting a blog and talking about the very things I spent my entire life hiding from others was a very scary prospect. In fact, I was so terrified that I attracted the very thing that I was a afraid. Criticism from strangers on-line telling me I am crazy, I am a fake, I am delusional, I am going to hell, read your bible….. The list goes on and on.

I had such a melt down that I ended up deleting my previous blog. I had no intention of ever blogging again. But something inside me (as usual, it was probably my Higher Self, she is very determined to step out of her comfort zone) urged me to forge ahead. I began another blog with a bit of a different format and me being brutally honest.

“Evening Sky” and “Heart In The Clouds” Spirit photography by Michelle and Ricky Schill

Since I began this blog, I have been enjoying it. Yes, I have had to take breaks but I think everyone needs breaks at some point. I really enjoy blogging and although I have had a few rude comments over the past few months, they have been very few. I believe that the reason for this is because I no longer care what others think. Don’t get me wrong, the concern will sometimes pass through my mind but it does so exceedingly quick. I no longer worry about what I am writing and how people will react. This is the first time that I have shared my blog everywhere without concern for what family, friends or strangers will think. I have taken on the attitude: my blog, my timeline, my Facebook pages, my social media page so I get to write whatever the hell I want! Believe me, that attitude is extremely effective!

Over the last few months my ambition has really seemed to flourish. I do not ever recall being this determined in my life. When I decided to start my new on-line shop, Naturally Ethereal, was when I became a forge ahead bulldozer. I am passionate about using natural products and my art. I decided that since I feel the two are closely connected I would create a shop where I sold the all natural products that I make and use and then also have a section for my one of a kind art which is based on nature and Spirituality. This idea resonated with me so much that I consulted my Guides to get their opinion. They said they needed to ask me a question before they gave me their opinion. They wanted to know the reasons that I wanted to do this. When I said my passion is natural products to improve holistic health and the environment and my art has always been my passion, they gave me a thumbs up!

This is where things get really frightening. I began to do a lot of research before beginning my new business. I came across a blog called Create & Thrive, which is an informative and educational blog for artists/makers who want to turn their hobby into a business. I read blog posts and listened to podcasts daily. The information was extremely helpful so I decided to join the paid group, which is an off shoot of this site, called The Thriver Circle. The Thriver Circle has a web page but the majority of the activity takes place on its Facebook page. There is a 52 week course and every month there is a project. Well, the first monthly project when I joined was to do a live Facebook video for your business. Let me tell you, I was shaking in my boots! Jess, who is the facilitator, said that I needed to keep doing videos for my business because I have lovely voice and it will attract customers. I found that I actually enjoy recording videos, which really surprised me! Another thing that surprised me was the response to the videos. I found that more people watched and responded to videos than they do to written posts, posted blog posts and posted products! I ended up doing eight videos that month for my business and there are more coming!

I have also begun doing a video series for this blog; however, I must post them on the Ethereal Happenings Facebook page because I cannot upgrade my WordPress account at this moment. I posted the first video this afternoon so please click on the button at the lower right of this page and it will take you to our Facebook page and you can watch the video. It is a series on nature that I wanted to do before the snow starts flying. Yes, I have quite a few of them I want to do!

All of this has caused me to be pondering all sorts of crazy ideas which are out of character for me. I came up with a few ideas for promotions on Naturally Ethereal. I began the first one yesterday, which is receiving 10% off your first purchase when you sign up for the Naturally Ethereal Newsletter. I am also of thinking of some free giveaways as promotions for Naturally Ethereal.

I have always been technologically challenged (John used to take care of all that stuff for me), but all of this has caused me to design my own website, how to set up promotions, upload videos and various other techie things I thought I could not do.

I am having some very crazy ideas about maybe offering my services on Naturally Ethereal too, such as Spirit Drawing and maybe readings. That one would take a lot of courage and I will be mulling that over for a very long time.

Then there is a YouTube channel idea that keeps sneaking into my mind. No matter how many times I try to bat it out of there, it flits right back in. This idea just gives me the heebie jeebies!!

Anyway, as frightening as this all is for me, it is also empowering. I have no idea if I will ever do all these things; however, the things I have accomplished make me feel as if I am a whole new being. I think this is because I am a whole new being and it feels wonderful! I feel as if I am on a new adventure.

Anyway, those crazy ideas that sometimes pop into your head? Throw caution to the wind and give one or two of them a try! You will be amazed at how wonderful you feel. It truly is a Soul expanding experience! – Michelle

Walk In Peace
“Park Trail Sign” Spirit photography by Michelle and Ricky Schill
